Antioch Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
Antioch Speedway

Antioch Speedway

IMCA Sport Mods

Antioch Speedway

Antioch Speedway

IMCA Stock Cars

Antioch Speedway

Antioch Speedway

IMCA Modifieds

Antioch Speedway

Antioch Speedway

Hard Tops / Valley Sportsman

Hart Outduels Holbrook for Antioch Speedway Win


Antioch Speedway

Hart Outduels Holbrook for Antioch Speedway Win

Antioch, CA...June 22...Ryan Hart of Dos Palos scored the 20 lap Pacific Coast Hobby Stock Main Event victory Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. The win came after an intense late race duel in lapped traffic with point leader Clarence Holbrook III of Galt. This was the second win of the season for Hart, who is a two-time Merced Speedway Hobby Stock champion.

In a race that was destined to go without a yellow flag, Holbrook bolted into the lead at the start, followed by Kevin Brown of Oakley and Hart. Brown had been having engine problems all season long, and this is the best his car has run. Hart challenged Brown for several laps before finally getting past him in traffic on the 10th circuit. Holbrook built a big lead, but even with some good moves in traffic, he lost most of it to Hart.

With a couple laps to go, Hart was shadowing Holbrook's every move. As they raced to the white flag, Hart got around Holbrook on the outside. This was a nip and tuck battle as traffic was intense throughout the final lap. At moments, Holbrook nudged ahead, but as they came to the checkered flag, Hart prevailed for the crowd thrilling victory. Brown settled for third, followed by Aidan Ponciano of Oakley and Jared Baugh of Pittsburg.

Fred Ryland of Brentwood won the 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event. This was his second win of the season in this class at Antioch. He missed the previous race as he was winning both the IMCA Sport Modified and Stock Car Main Events in Yreka.

Dylan Connelly of Antioch jumped into the early lead ahead of Antioch's Haley Gomez and Ryland. They ran that way until Gomez pushed too high in Turn 2 of the fifth lap, allowing Ryland to race by for second. Connelly had a huge lead, but it whittled away to nothing when they come upon lapped traffic on the ninth circuit. A low move in Turn 2 of the 10th lap temporarily gained Ryland the lead, but Connelly came back strong to lead the lap.

Ryland again raced around Connelly in Turn 2 of the 11th lap to take the lead. Following a yellow flag for a three-car tangle, Ryland led reigning champion Kenny Shrader of Pacheco and point leader Jason Ryan Jr of Oakley on the restart. Ryland set a good pace the rest of the way to collect the win, followed by Shrader, Ryan, Trevor Clymens of Brentwood and Chuck Golden of Pittsburg.

Shawn Arriaga of Antioch won the 20 lap Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event. Arriaga was piloting the Dave Johnson owned entry as the team is currently competing for the Hunt Wingless Spec Sprint championship.

Dylan Newberry of Brentwood had a front row start and charged into the lead when the green flag waved with Arriaga in tow. A yellow flag waved on the fifth lap when rookie John Ulrich of Antioch hit the Turn 4 wall to end his race. During the caution period, Ryon Siverling of Concord dropped fluid on the front straightaway and pulled into the infield. Arriaga took the lead from Newberry on the restart and ran a strong race during the remaining circuits for the victory. Newberry was a solid second ahead of new point leader Steve Maionchi of Sonora and Roy Fisher of Antioch.

Tom Davis of Los Molinos won the 12 lap Mini Stock Main Event. This was his second win of the season aboard the Delbert Rios owned entry, and he tied point leader Tom Brown of Santa Rosa and Justin Silveira with 13 career wins atop the division's all-time winner's list.

Brown led the opening lap before Davis went low in the fourth turn to gain the lead. Brown charged around on the outside down the back stretch to retake the lead, but he pushed exiting Turn 2 as Davis regained command. Davis had a solid run going when Corning's Tony Quininez spun in Turn 2 for a Lap 10 yellow flag. Brown tried to challenge Davis on the restart, but Davis resumed command and brought it home to victory. Quininez settled for third.

Next Saturday night will be a loaded racing program as the BCRA Midgets will be in action for their first of two appearances. Also competing will be the Wingless Spec Sprints, Super Stocks, Hardtops, Dwarf Cars, Mini Stocks, Wingless 600 Micro Sprints and Winged 600 Micro Sprints. For further information, go to

Race Results
Pacific Coast Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Aidan Ponciano, James Thomson, Ryan Hart. Main Event (20 Laps)-Ryan Hart, Clarence Holbrook III, Kevin Brown, Aidan Ponciano, Jared Baugh, Rick Rogers, James Thomson, Colten Haney, Jewell Crandall, Brandon Carpenter.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Jason Ryan Jr, James Graessle. Main Event (20 Laps)-Fred Ryland, Kenny Shrader, Jason Ryan Jr, Trevor Clymens, Chuck Golden, Tommy Clymens, James Graessle, Dylan Connelly, Kelly Campanile, Haley Gomez.

Wingless Spec Sprints
Fast Time-Shawn Arriaga 14.491. Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Shawn Arriaga, Ryon Siverling. Main Event (20 Laps)-Shawn Arriaga, Dylan Newberry, Steve Maionchi, Roy Fisher, Ryon Siverling, John Ulrich, Kevin Box DNS, Blake Bower DNS.

Mini Stocks
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Tom Brown. Main Event (15 Laps)-Tom Davis, Tom Brown, Tony Quinonez.

Article Credit: Candice Martin, Photos by Katrina Kniss

Submitted By: Wylie Wade

Article Media

Back to News

Driver Registration

Driver Registration

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

This is Ken Johns first appearance in the Black #32 Hobby Stock
Misty Welborn 75 Wins her 2nd race of 2022!!
Super Stocks Return to Antioch Speedway!
Misty Welborn 75 makes it a Threepeat!!
Les Friend 42 wins Hobby Stock 4/23/22
1 Hour Drain
Coco Farms
Delta Transmission
Pacific Coast
Polar Bear