Antioch Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
Antioch Speedway

Antioch Speedway

IMCA Sport Mods

Antioch Speedway

Antioch Speedway

IMCA Stock Cars

Antioch Speedway

Antioch Speedway

IMCA Modifieds

Antioch Speedway

Antioch Speedway

Hard Tops / Valley Sportsman

Jones Wins Hunt Series Race At Antioch Speedway


Antioch Speedway

Jones Wins Hunt Series Race At Antioch Speedway

Antioch, CA...June 8...Shawn Jones of San Jose won the 25 lap Hunt Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. Jones is a past champion on the tour and is driving for Pries Motorsports. He made a late move around reigning series champion DJ Johnson of Stockton to grab the win.

Johnson jumped into the lead at the start ahead of current Antioch point leader Jacob Tuttle of Oakley and series point leader Shawn Arriaga of Antioch. Following a yellow flag for Chris Geilfuss of Antioch, Johnson maintained command on the restart. Heath Holdsclaw of Loomis spun in the second turn and collected Kevin Box of Bethel Island for a Lap 10 yellow flag. Both drivers were eliminated.

Johnson continued to lead Tuttle on the restart, and Jones made a low pass in Turn 2 of the 11th lap to take third from Arriaga. A high move in the fourth turn three laps later moved Jones in the second, and the yellow flag was out on Lap 15. Jones put the moves on Johnson on the restart to grab the lead.

Even a yellow flag with three laps to go could not deter Jones. He maintained command on the restart and brought it home to victory ahead of Johnson. Brentwood's Blake Bower made a backstretch pass on Tuttle on the final lap to grab third, and Josh Young of Roseville ended up fifth.

Anthony Slaney of Martinez won the 25 lap Xtreme Late Model Main Event. He won the Larry Damitz Memorial race at the end of May, and this win will likely move him into the series point lead.

Clark Guglielmoni of Vacaville set the early pace ahead of Slaney and Rod Oliver of Yuba City. The first 20 laps went rapidly with Guglielmoni leading, closely trailed by Slaney for much of that distance. As they worked slower traffic on Lap 15, Slaney made an inside pass on the backstretch to grab the lead. The leaders were in heavy traffic when a spin forced a Lap 20 yellow flag. Slaney maintained command on restart and brought it home to victory ahead of Gulielmoni, Oliver, Ray Trimble of Auburn and Jake Dewsbury of Vallejo.

Hunter Kenny of Citrus Heights won the 15 lap BCRA Lightning Sprint Main Event. Kinney jumped into the lead at the start with Matt Land of Elk Grove moving into second on the second lap. Reigning champion Dakota Albright of Waterford struck to third on Lap 3. By the fifth lap, Hunter Kinney held a straightaway advantage over Land and Albright, while Greg Dennett of Livermore ran a close close fourth.

A yellow flag waved after nine laps when Tyler Gerdes of Placerville spun in Turn 4. Kinney maintained the lead over Land on the restart. However, a red flag waved on Lap 13 when Albright flipped on the backstretch. Hunter Kinney led the restart and brought it home to victory. Land held off a late surge by Jason Schostag of Hangtown to finish second as Gerdes and Dennett rounded out the Top 5.

Ken Carter of Santa Rosa won the 15 lap 600 Micro Sprint Main Event. From his front row starting position, he jumped out to the lead on the opening lap and proceeded to lead the entire distance. Carter won by about a straightaway over Cameron Gonzalez of Santa Rosa. Ryan Dotson of Fremont ran a close third with Tracy's Devin Zuffa the final lead lap finisher in fourth. Buddy Chappell of Stockton rounded out the Top 5.

Brandon Aylesworth of Benicia won the 15 lap Dwarf Car Main Event. Aylesworth jumped into the lead at the start ahead of previous winner Travis Day of Concord. The lead duo ran in close formation throughout the first 12 laps. While battling closely for the lead exiting the fourth turn, Day and Aylrsworth made contact, causing both to spin. Aylesworth led the next restart, and Day spun in Turn 2, collecting Chris Durden of Hollister for the final yellow flag. Day retired at that point, and Aylesworth went on to victory ahead of Durden.

Joel Hannagan of San Jose won the 15 lap Hardtop Main Event. He started on the front row and bolted into the lead over Merced Sportsman point leader Mike Gillard of Atwater. Hannagan held nearly a half[-lap lead in the waning stages of the race. Gillard spun in the final turn with Rick Elliott of Merced finishing second ahead of Gillard and Don Slaney of Martinez.

Racing continues next Saturday night with the lone appearance of the Elk Grove Ford Sprint Car Challenge Tour. Also competing will be the IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and Mini Stocks. For further information, go to

Race Results
Hunt Series Wingless Spec Sprints
Fast Time-Shawn Arriaga 14.666. Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Shawn Arriaga, DJ Johnson, Brent Steck. Main Event (25 Laps)-Shawn Jones, DJ Johnson, Blake Bower, Jacob Tuttle, Josh Young, Brent Steck, Mark Hanson, Jarrett Soares, Jimmy Christian, Dylan Newberry.

Xtreme Limited Late Models
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Ray Trimble, Anthony Slaney. Main Event (25 Laps)-Anthony Slaney, Clark Guglielmoni, Rod Oliver, Jake Dewsbury, Ray Trimble, Tim Yaeger, Chester Kniss, Paul Guglielmoni, Tyler Lightfoot, Terry Kaiser.

BCRA Lightning Sprints
Fast Time-Greg Dennett 14.345. Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Dakota Albright, Hunter Kinney. Main Event (15 Laps)-Hunter Kinney, Matt Land, Jason Schostag, Tyler Gerdes, Greg Dennett, Dakota Albright, Scott Kinney Steve Ledbetteer DNS.

Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Joel Hannagan. Main Event (15 Laps)-Joel Hannagan, Rick Elliott, Mike Gillard, Don Slaney.

600 Micro Sprints
Heat Winner (8 Laps)-Ken Carter. Main Event (15 Laps)-Ken Carter, Cameron Gonsalez, Ryan Dotson, Devon Zuffa, Buddy Chappell, Charlie Kight DNS.

Dwarf Cars
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Brandon Aylesworth. Main Event (15 Laps)-Brandon Aylesworth, Chris Durden, Travis Day.

Article Credit: Candice Martin, Photos by Katrina Kniss

Submitted By: Wylie Wade

Article Media

Back to News

Driver Registration

Driver Registration

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

This is Ken Johns first appearance in the Black #32 Hobby Stock
Misty Welborn 75 Wins her 2nd race of 2022!!
Super Stocks Return to Antioch Speedway!
Misty Welborn 75 makes it a Threepeat!!
Les Friend 42 wins Hobby Stock 4/23/22
1 Hour Drain
Coco Farms
Delta Transmission
Pacific Coast
Polar Bear